Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Book Review : Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Review by BookBonanzaReviews

 

Title : Throne of Glassdownload

Author : Sarah J. Maas

Genre : YA, Fantasy

Rating : 5 Stars

Sarah J. Maas, thank you, thank you, thank you!

It is SO refreshing to have a heroine in a novel not be a victim for once but rather be able to fight back, save herself and just kick ass.

 

If you have not read this book, I highly recommend it. If your after something fast paced and action packed this is perfect. If your looking for an entertaining read, this is the book for you. If you want something like Maria V Snyder and her amazing characters and writing style, I highly recommend you pick this book up. Yesterday.

The only thing I’ve noticed as I’m writing right now is that the beginning of Throne of Glass starts off very similar to the start of Poison Study, both heroines are prisoners, both have been betrayed or abused in some way and both have not lot their fire.

In this book we follow a main character that is a renowned assassin at a very young age, Celaena Sardothien. She is a captured and shamed criminal in the salt mines, one of the deadliest most feared prisoners within the camp. She is given the choice to her fight for her ‘some-what’ freedom as she competes with other thieves and assassins to become the Kings Champion and personal assassin. But another competitor for this position is cheating, rival champions are are turning up dead and signs suggest that there are other ulterior motives behind the killings than just becoming the Kings Champion.

When you have a novel filled with plot twists, action, romance and fantasy what more can you ask for?! This was one of the best books I’ve read in years. I can honestly say that this was a very refreshing read. The last time I loved a book this much was Maria V. Snyder’s Poison Study series. Well anything Maria V Snyder!

What I enjoyed the most about this book was that the main character remained relatable. Even though she was a killer and cunning and smart, Sarah still managed to keep her enchanting without being overzealous. It’s not often in a book where the main character is not necessarily a model citizen but rather a bit of a delinquent.

I really enjoyed all the relationships built and created throughout this book, the all seemed genuine and honest. I liked the fact that both boys took her under their wing and protected her.

I know which team I’m cheering for though, do you?! Let me know who you’d rather win Celaena’s heart!

I’ll confess, this is a late review and I’ve already read every other book in the series! But I will give you my thoughts on the next soon!

 

xoxo Book Dragon Ash

Leave a Reply

