Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Book Review : Poison Study by Maria V Snyder

6691056-_uy200_

Title : Poison Study

Author : Maria V. Snyder

Genre : YA, Fantasy

Rating : 5 Stars

I think I need to admit something, I’m a bit of a Maria V. Snyder fan girl, I just don’t know how unbiased I can keep any reviews I do for Snyder. I think whatever I say about this amazing, otherworldly, talent of an author we have been gifted will always be abundantly positive. I just cannot fault anything she does.

I’ve tried to keep an open mind and nitpick her books but I’ve never found a spelling error, a plot hole, a character issue or recycled story-line. Nothing. She is squeaky clean. Perfection with a capital P and perhaps a few !!!@#$#@!!! to emphasize my point just in case nothing else I’ve said has gotten through to you about how much I love her.

I’ll be honest, I read this book about 8 years ago, maybe more or less but it was one of the first few books I ever read. I’ve re-read it many times since and I DO NOT re-read books. Not often. I think the only books I’ve ever re-read and ever will, are Snyder’s and Sarah J. Maas. I guess that goes to show you who and what kind of books I fall in love with.

Okay so more on the actual book, before I keep rambling and praising Snyder until you finally decide to unfollow me.

This is where I hit my spoiler section, I don’t think I’ve spoiled too much but still, if you want to be completely taken by surprise then, leave now.

Toodaloo!

So when I first read this book I felt like Yelena was the first female heroine of her type. She was empathetic, a victim but still a fighter and someone who got back up and fought her own wars. Somehow her badassness – if you will – did not make her loose any of her character qualities. I found it refreshing to have a female main be a fighter and winner, you see when I first read this book there was no Celaena Sardothien, Yelena was my Celaena! It might be worth mentioning that though they both know or learn how to fight, and both start as prisoners, they are still two very different characters for many reasons. Perhaps I will go into that in more detail one day. But I’ll leave that for another rambling blog post!

What I really enjoyed about this book was the growth and development that the main character went through, from being on death row to being the commanders food taster, learning all the poisons to learning how to fight. I just really found myself engrossed in every page and enjoying learning those new things with Yelena!

We cannot forget Ari and Janco, how two support characters could become such main attractions is beyond me but hey I am not complaining! They are pretty awesome. I love how one is sensible and the other reckless, they bounce off each other perfectly and literally every scene they were in I am pretty sure I was in hysterics.

I think it would be a crime not to mention Valek. The amazingly talented personal assassin and Commanders adviser. I loved everything about this love interest especially the scene with the hay…. You know what I’m talking about. – if you don’t tough because I am SO not going into that territory in my reviews. Yet. It is safe to say that I could not find a character that enthralls me so much as him. Or him and her together! I loved their connection and the way it flowed quite naturally. It was real, not over the top.

Finally, the action in this book is not lacking in any way shape or form. The plot points and highs were all seamlessly thrown into the story. I do not think there was a scene or character in the book that I found needed more work or that I felt was a touch boring.

I’m sure there is SO much more I can say about this book. But for now that’s my praise done. I’ve already read every other book so I’m sure I’ll do reviews on them soon but I will definately need to re-read as it was years and years ago!

If you havent read this book. Do so now. If you have please share with me your favorite parts, or if you dare, point out some shortcomings that I was helplessly blind to. I would love to hear them all! 🙂

xoxo Book Dragon Ash

3 thoughts on “Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Leave a Reply

